Welcome to the new Anthem Press website, currently in BETA mode. The fully functional and updated site will be live soon!

Visuality in the Novels of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney

Visuality in the Novels of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney

By Jessica A. Volz

Anthem Nineteenth-Century Series

‘Visuality in the Novels of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney’ examines the forms and functions of visuality in the novels of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney. It offers new insights into vision, fiction and depiction by exploring how the visual details in women’s novels published between 1778 and 1815 are more telling about gender politics than scholars have previously acknowledged.

Hardback, 252 Pages

ISBN:9781783086603

March 2017

£70.00, $115.00

More Retailers>

  • About This Book
  • Reviews
  • Author Information
  • Series
  • Table of Contents

About This Book

There are many factors that contributed to the proliferation of visual codes, metaphors and references to the gaze in women’s fiction of the late-eighteenth and early-nineteenth centuries. 'Visuality in the Novels of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney' argues that the visual details in women’s novels published between 1778 and 1815 are more significant than scholars have previously acknowledged. Its innovative study of the oeuvres of Jane Austen, Ann Radcliffe, Maria Edgeworth and Frances Burney shows that visuality – the continuum linking visual and verbal communication – provided women writers with a methodology capable of circumventing the cultural strictures on female expression in a way that allowed for concealed resistance. Visuality empowered them to convey the actual ways in which women ‘should’ see and appear in a society in which the reputation was image-based.

The discussion moves from self-referential coordinates exterior to the self in the novels of Austen and Radcliffe to the drama of reflections, fashion and the minutiae of coded self-display in the novels of Edgeworth and Burney. The analysis engages with scholarly critiques drawn from literature, art history, optics, psychology, philosophy and anthropology to assert visuality’s multidisciplinary influences and diplomatic potential. The non-chronological structure embraces overlapping themes rather than the illusion of a conclusive departure from the reciprocity between the appearance and the essence.

'Visuality in the Novels of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney' explores how in fiction and in actuality, women negotiated four scopic forces that determined their ‘looks’ and manners of looking: the impartial spectator, the male gaze, the public eye and the disenfranchised female gaze. In a society dominated by ‘frustrated utterance’, penetrating gazes and the perpetual threat of misinterpretation, women novelists used references to the visible and the invisible to comment on emotions, socioeconomic conditions and patriarchal abuses. Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney provide ideal case studies in this regard because they were culturally representative figures who also experimented with and contributed to different approaches to the novel. This book thus offers new insights into verbal economy and the gender politics of the era spanning the Anglo-French War and the Battle of Waterloo by reassessing expression and perception from a uniquely telling yet largely overlooked point of view. 

Reviews

SEL Studies in English Literature

19 Cents Blog

"Volz looks at how these women novelists dealt with questions of gender politics, the Gothic imagination and other 'optical allusions' – a compelling read."
—Jane Austen’s Regency World Magazine

‘Volz’s perceptive, careful analysis makes her book a valuable resource for readers of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth, and Burney.’
—Claire Denelle Cowart, ‘Jane Austen Society of North America’, JASNA

‘The huge literature written by women of Jane Austen’s period has been the subject of a grand rediscovery in recent decades. This wonderful and scholarly book shows us with lively examples how women in the age of Jane Austen were allowed to perceive themselves and how four great women writers responded creatively and spiritually, through their use of the visual imagination in their writing. I read it with huge pleasure.'
—Bestselling novelist Edward Rutherfurd; author of 'Sarum', 'London', 'New York' and 'Paris'

‘We’ve long understood that late eighteenth- and early nineteenth-century British culture was structured around seeing and being seen, but it’s taken Jessica Volz’s fine book to reveal how four famed women novelists of the era used visual patterns and cues to promote social change. With its perceptive readings, marshalling theories of visuality, gender and aesthetics, Volz’s book persuasively argues that fiction writers narrated images – visual and verbal portraiture – to push back at and shed light on gendered constraints. "Visuality in the Novels of Austen, Radcliffe, Edgeworth and Burney" is a compelling study of a surprisingly under-examined set of narrative patterns that have been hiding in plain sight.’
—Devoney Looser, Professor of English, Arizona State University, USA

Author Information

Dr Jessica A. Volz is an independent British literature scholar and international communications strategist whose research focuses on the forms and functions of visuality in late eighteenth- and early nineteenth-century women’s novels.

Series

Anthem Nineteenth-Century Series

Table of Contents

Foreword by Caroline Jane Knight; Preface; Introduction: Visuality in Profile; 1. Jane Austen’s Aesthetic Vocabulary of Character; 2. Ann Radcliffe’s Gothic Reconstructions of Female Identity and Experience; 3. The Gendered Gaze and ‘Made-up’ Women in Maria Edgeworth’s 'Castle Rackrent', 'Ennui' and 'Belinda'; 4. Optical Allusions in Frances Burney’s 'Evelina' and 'The Wanderer'; Conclusion; Selected Bibliography; Index.

Latest Tweets

  • Revisit an exciting lecture by @UMNDuluth professor Gideon Mailer, author of 'Decolonizing the Diet', on Nutrition,… https://t.co/ul9jy2e6hx

    - 11:01:49 on 19/09/2019
  • 'The ImpactAssets Handbook for Investors' is a critical handbook for those interested and engaged in investing capi… https://t.co/emrgExes5Q

    - 11:01:49 on 18/09/2019
  • The Book Review Literary Trust has produced a substantial review of British Women Missionaries in Bengal by Sutapa… https://t.co/ePaCAP1OJK

    - 11:01:49 on 17/09/2019
  • In November we're publishing a new title 'Environmental Problem-Solving' by MIT staff Lawrence Susskind, Bruno Verd… https://t.co/PCx3iqGexR

    - 11:01:49 on 14/09/2019
  • The paperback edition of our festschrift honoring the work of Edward A. Tiryakian entitled 'The Art and Science of… https://t.co/bJmPGgkDe5

    - 11:01:49 on 13/09/2019
  • RT @ColetteGrace: announcing the 2020 publication in the Keith/Mazzucelli @AnthemPress Series by @IdentityWoman, The Domains of Identity, w…

    - 11:01:49 on 12/09/2019
  • “Structure, Agency, Biotechnology” argues the importance of sociological theory in studying agricultural biotechnol… https://t.co/F86DoZWxdF

    - 11:01:49 on 10/09/2019
  • Read an exciting review of Anthem title, 'Resolving Land and Energy Conflicts' by Patrick Field, Tushar Kansal, Cat… https://t.co/Lhc5ALhYH6

    - 11:01:49 on 07/09/2019
  • Read a @SelvaVoyage review of one of our excellent newer titles, 'Keywords for Travel Writing Studies'.… https://t.co/JeQ1zz5Jx7

    - 11:01:49 on 06/09/2019
  • RT @ReVisionGuelph: CALL FOR PROPOSALS: Literature, Film, and the Politics of Health (essay collection). Edited by Sarah Blanchette and Nei…

    - 11:01:49 on 05/09/2019